Clean Training: Final Thoughts

Well, we are near the end. Here are the good points up front:

– 13 pounds lost

– Improved run times (more on that in a minute)

– Sustained energy during the day

What I miss:

– Coffee

Really, that’s it. I mean, I will likely still enjoy other non-detox stuff in the future, but coffee was the only thing I genuinely missed. I suppose it comes with the territory of working with the government. Coffee will be the first thing I “re-introduce.”

Other points:

– Run time. As mentioned before, I am training for two long distance races later this spring. At first, I felt a bit empty over longer training runs. Cold weather in the morning did not help. However, this week, I noticed my 5-mile run time was faster, and I also finished an 18-mile and an 16-mile training run. I would usually have gluten-free oats the night prior my “fuel.” I did not feel weighed down.

– Energy. One night last week, we had to work late to complete a short-suspense project. In days past, I would likely reach for a coffee, or something out of the vending machine to sustain me. I can say that we completed our project, and I did not feel the need to reach for anything. I’d say that’s a good sign.

– What’s next? After re-introduction, I will likely go on an 80-20 diet (80% detox food), especially during my training period. There is a noticeable benefit in eating food void of chemicals. I’ve never been one to aggressively advocate for purely “organic” fare, but I can say that clean food is good in the long run.

Lastly, thanks to my lovely wife for her support, and to Meredith M. for her good cheers.

One thought on “Clean Training: Final Thoughts

Leave a Reply

