Clean Training: Day 1

Happy 2015 Everyone! I hope you all have had a great holiday season. Now it is back to real life for many of us. Most of us we are striving to be healthier in 2015. This holiday season was ok. I maintained my weight, but I was still left feeling yucky. I have decided to do the 28 day Arbonne Detox for a 3rd time. This time I am doing it to feel better, but I am also doing it in solidarity with my husband who has decided to jump on this wagon!

He will be my guest blogger for the next 28 days. He probably won’t post daily, but I love that you can all get a different perspective that is male and that is also from someone that is currently training for a marathon!

Day 1
My primary goal for this detox is to get clean for better performance. I’ve always been active; job requirements warrant fitness and weight requirements. Further, I’m an avid runner, with 2 marathons under my belt, and two forthcoming this spring. Yet despite regular exercise and maintaining weight, I can’t seem to break into the next “band of excellence” regarding fitness. I just don’t *feel* healthy. After reflection, I deduced that bad fuel inhibited true progress.
Some background. Unfortunately, like most of my American demographic, I spent the first 25 years of my life consuming alleged food found at fast food joints and convenience stores. Since puberty dominated most of this time, the accompanying hyper-active metabolism obscured any internal effect. Then, suddenly, everything seemed to stop. Years of garbage-food took its toll, and it was beginning to show. Weight slowly added on like an insidious house guest who slowly accumulates excess baggage. This never got totally out of control, but just noticeable to be a nuisance. Again, being active prevented a total disaster, sometimes just barely.
Even with many hours on running trails, and meeting the Army’s height and weight requirements, I still don’t feel like I’m in control. My attitude always remained: As long as I meet standards, I can tolerate the aforementioned “house guest.” Well, it’s time for that house guest to leave.
Which brings us to today. After (repeated) suggestion from my wife, Marisol, I decided to start the detox. I go into this open-minded and curious. Seeing Marisol’s positive transformation certainly inspired, and I’m ready to feel healthy. So far, it’s been pretty good. Mar’s experience from two successful detox sessions certainly makes her a qualified coach. The shake I had this morning satisfied, and the detox tea served as an apt substitute for coffee. For lunch, I had a chicken patty with brown rice and tomatoes, which filled me up without being “filling.” I don’t feel particularly fatigued. Sure, my body detects something “missing,” but not to the point of debilitation.
I am also doing this amid a marathon training cycle. This morning’s training run felt a bit slower, but I attribute that to bad fuel from the prior weekend. An improved personal record in this race adds more incentive. We’ll see where this leads.
I will check in periodically on my progress. I promise to be honest while avoiding excessive emotion, good or bad; I believe clinical frankness works best on this venture. Yet I am positive that I will come out stronger and healthier on the back end. Sure, losing weight is good, but what good is a leaner body if it cannot perform? Will this work? Who knows, but I can’t wait to find out.

Breakfast: Blueberry Chocolate Shake with Arbonne Protein, Fiber, digestion plus probiotic, almond butter,  banana  and detox tea

Morning Snack: Omega-3  trail mix and green tea

Lunch: Trader Joe’s Chicken Lime Burger with brown rice, pico de gallo and half a small avocado

IMG_4219

Afternoon Snack: Omega-3 trail mix and Energy Fizz Stick

Dinner: Against All Grain’s Peruvian Chicken with Sweet Potatoes recipe

IMG_4220

One thought on “Clean Training: Day 1

  1. Jeff & Mar – your team approach to wellness is awesome and a great example to the boys. I look forward to hearing Jeff’s feedback replete with the patented candor, woven with wit & a sousanice of spunk! Polish machine never breaks!’

Leave a Reply

