Maleficent Surprises….

Maleficent-poster-1

 

As a little girl the witch in Disney’s Sleeping beauty was probably hands down the scariest for me. I don’t know if it was the horns or the dark high collared cape or the fact that she turns into a dragon, but whatever it was she terrified me! From what I recall about Disney’s animated version of Sleeping Beauty we never knew why Maleficent was so evil, other than  she wasn’t invited to the princess’ christening.

I really was happy when I heard that they were going to tell this villain’s story in a non animated feature with Angelina Jolie as the lead. I mean really who else could we see in this role. Angelina has a presence to her and I feel that she was perfectly casted. Without revealing too much, I was really surprised with the twists and turns Maleficent took. It was nice to find out her origin and why she turns so dark. In the end though it seems that the tale we have known all along leaves some important parts out. As a production the movie is FANTASTIC, the sets are beautiful, the costumes are amazing and the effects are great.   I didn’t take the boys I think some parts would have scared my 6-year-old, but I will probably take my almost 11-year-old if I get the chance. If you haven’t seen it I urge you to go see it. You will not be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

