WOD with My Oldest

In the last few months, my 9 1/2 year old son has taken an interest in fitness. Ever since he was 3 1/2 he has been involved in some sort of team sport or activity (swim lessons, Taekwondo). To encourage this new-found interest of everyday fitness we got him a kid membership to the gym and have signed him up for a kids TRX class that meets twice a week. My husband also does push ups and sit ups with him at night a couple of times a week.

Saturday mornings are now mother and son workout sessions, which I  throughly enjoy. Being that he is only 9 he is really limited to what equipment he is allowed to use. It is pretty much just cardio machines. Up until today we would workout next to each other on a cardio machine. Since the weather was so nice this morning,  I made up a quick running based WOD. Outside by our gym the route they have the meters marked off is great, because it has a sizable hill at the end. It really has helped me build some endurance and speed and I hope it does the same for my son.

Run 800m (rest 30 sec-1 min)
1 min plank
20 squats
Run 500m (rest 30 sec-1min )
1 min plank
20 squats
Run 300m (rest 30 sec-1min)
1 min plank
20 squats

Don’t forget to stretch at the end!

He did great! I was impressed he could hold a decent plank for a minute. It took me a while to build up to that. When it was said and done we had run a mile, held plank for 3 min and did 60 squats all in about 30 min. If you want to do this I would take out the rest time. I included it so he could recover from the running and not make the workout seem horrible for him. In the end he had fun!

I hope you all have a great Saturday!

 

2 thoughts on “WOD with My Oldest

Leave a Reply

