Hey Mom! Can We Get Some Meat Loaf?!?!

This week I am clearing out the cupboards, freezer and fridge. I do this every now and again. I had some ground beef in the freezer and since we already had a mexican inspired dinner this week, along with spaghetti. I decided to make some meatloaf. Of course, when I said this to my husband he immediately referenced the following scene from Wedding Crashers. If you choose to click on the scene, please note that is does have some bad language.

Believe it or not, I have never made meatloaf before. Click here to see the recipe I used as an inspiration. Below is what I did last night.

Mom!! Where’s The Meatloaf? recipe

Ingredients: 2 turns of olive oil, 1 shallot (or red onion) chopped, half of red pepper chopped, 2 lbs of grass-fed beef (you can use regular this is what I had), 2 tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce (divided), 1/2 cup of breadcrumbs, few squeezes of ketchup, 3 teaspoons of Tastefully Simple seasoned salt, 1 teaspoon of garlic powder, 2 large eggs lightly beaten, 1(8 ounce) tomato sauce, 3 tablespoon tomato paste, 1 squeeze of ketchup

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees

1) Heat oil in skillet. Add shallots and red pepper. Sauté for about 6 min or until soft.

2) Combine shallot/pepper mix with beef, breadcrumbs, eggs, 1 tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce, seasoned salt (you can really any seasoning you have that sounds good), ketchup and garlic powder. Mix well. I used my hands.

IMG_2258

3) In a lightly greased loaf pan (Yes, I used a loaf pan I didn’t create a loaf myself on a baking pan. I cheated.) evenly place beef mixture in. Place in oven for 45 minutes

IMG_2259

4) While meatloaf is in oven mix tomato sauce, tomato paste, remaining Worcestershire sauce.

5) After the meatloaf has been in the oven for 45 min, take it out ( I also used this time to drain some of the grease from the pan) and evenly pour the mixture over meatloaf. Put meatloaf back in oven for  10-15 minutes or until middle in no loner pink (one drawback of making it in the loaf pan was seeing if it was ready).

IMG_2261

6) When you take meatloaf out let it rest for 10 min

Everyone loved it. Since it is cleaning out the fridge, pantry, freezer week I didn’t pair it with anything exciting (that is why I didn’t take a pic of it plated). It was french fries and peas tonight. On another occasion I would do maybe a sweet potato or potato hash with kale or even mashed potatoes and green beans or asparagus. The side options are really endless. I am going to file it away for fall recipes. It’s a wonderful comfort food. It worked tonight, because it had been an unseasonably cold and rainy day.

 

3 thoughts on “Hey Mom! Can We Get Some Meat Loaf?!?!

  1. Pingback: Just Call Me Gabby | terry1954

Leave a Reply

