My First Roasted Leg of Lamb

First I hope all of you that celebrate Easter had a wonderful Easter weekend. We had our good friends over yesterday for our Easter meal. I decided to tackle a leg of lamb. I have grilled lamb chops before and a loin, but never a leg of lamb with (gasp) the bone.  I asked my friend Kate who was coming over if she could help me find a recipe she send me the recipe below from Gourmet magazine. I didn’t follow this exactly, but it was the inspiration for my dish. I also consulted other recipes for the cooking time. Click here to see the full size recipe.

Provencal rack of lamb with roasted tomatoes 001

Roasted Leg of Lamb with Roasted Veggies (I apologize I didn’t take pictures. I had all intentions of doing so and I just got so involved with preparation I forgot.)

Ingredients (Serves 6-8 cooking time 1 1/2 hrs-2 hrs or until meat at the thickest part is at 145-150 degrees for medium rare): 5 1/2-6lb leg of lamb with bone, whole garlic head (peeled), a big handful of thyme, a big handful of rosemary, zest of one lemon, juice of 2 lemons, couple glugs of white wine vinegar and three glugs of olive oil (I used a flavored infused olive oil of roasted red onion and cilantro), 6-8 medium to small (quartered) Yukon gold potatoes, 4 medium tomatoes and one medium shallot, salt and pepper

Pre-heat oven to 425

1) Chop up garlic, thyme, and rosemary. (I used my hand-held chopper but I think next time I am going to use my food  processor.) Put in a medium-sized bowl. Add olive oil, white wine vinegar, lemon juice, salt and pepper to taste. Mix with hands. Let sit for little bit.

2) Cut tomatoes in half and peel and quarter potatoes. Peel and slice shallot very thinly.

3) Take out lamb pat it dry. I removed some of the fat on the non fatty side. Place in Pyrex dish and rub marinade all over it. Leave a couple spoonfuls of marinade in the bowl for veggies. (Now I let it sit for only about 10 min. If you would like to marinade it the night before or for a few hours it would make it better. I originally thought of only making a rub with the thyme and rosemary but at the last-minute I decided to make this particular marinade.)

4) Put all veggies in marinade and add salt and pepper and a little more olive oil. Put veggies in fridge.

5) Put lamb in roasting pan FAT SIDE UP. (I checked the lamb every 30 min to see if needed to raise the temperature. I originally had it on 400, but ended up raising it to 450 at one point. I think 425 should be ok from the beginning, but all ovens are different.) When you have 45-30 minutes left place veggies in roasting pan around lamb.

6) Lamb is ready when temperature at thickest part is 145-150 for medium rare (a pink middle). Let it rest for 10 minutes before carving.  If you would like you can also deglaze the pan on low heat on the stove top just add a little chicken stock if you would like to make a gravy to go along with it. I decided not to, but might do that the next time I make it.

I served the lamb and roasted veggies with a nice big green salad and grilled asparagus. For dessert my hubby made a delicious fruit salad and Kate made a carrot cake that was out of this world!

I hope you all have a great first week of April! Remember to tackle things head on and not to let tasks intimidate you!

Leave a Reply

