Hello There Oscar!

oscars.jpg.644x478_q100

One of my favorite days of the year is soon upon us….Oscar Sunday! I really don’t do anything big. I sit in front of the TV from the pre pre red carpet coverage until the end of the awards show.  The last few years my friends and I started a Facebook viewing party. About 20 of us get on a thread on Facebook and comment from the red carpet coverage until the end of the show. We do it for most of the big awards show to prepare for Oscar night. It really is a lot of fun. My husband has also starting putting out a food spread for us. He figure since I do that for him for football games, he will do it for me on my Super Bowl. This year I also got my favorite champagne to drink during the telecast. Moet bottles will pop when the red carpet begins!

My dream is to one day host a massive Oscar viewing party at my house. I would love to plan the menu around the Best Picture nominees.  With year nominees my friends and I came up with a fun menu. This is what we came up with so far. Maybe you can help us to fill in the blanks.

Argo: Persian Grapes. Click here for recipe. A typical desert from Iran.

Amour: Heart shaped sugar cookies. Click here for recipe. The movie is about undying love.

Beast of Southern Wild: Crab Boil. Click here for recipe. It seemed that was all they ate during this movie.

Django Unchained:

Les Miserables: Loaf of Bread. Click here for recipe. The reason why Jean Valjean was imprisoned. He stole a loaf of bread to give to his starving nephew.

Lincoln: Oysters on the half shell. They were served at his second inaugural dinner.

Life of Pi: Tiger Pie. Click here for recipe

Silver Linings Playbook:

Zero Dark Thirty: Chicken Biryani. Click here for recipe.

I really think Argo will win Best Picture. Daniel Day Lewis will take Best Actor and Anne Hathaway will take Best Supporting Actress.  I don’t think the other big categories have definite front runners. I think Jennifer Lewis and Jessica Chastain might split the vote  in the Best Actress category. I am very excited to see who will take home gold on Sunday!

Click here for your own printable ballot.

Do you do anything special for Oscar Sunday? Who do you think will take home gold on Sunday?

4 thoughts on “Hello There Oscar!

Leave a Reply

