SAGS Recap

The Winners

We had fun again last night, watching the SAGS red carpet and awards show with all my Face Book awards junkies. I personally thought the telecast was a little dull. Argo’s win for best ensemble was the highlight of the night for me. I think Argo is now the front-runner to win Best Picture at the Oscars. I loved how surprised and humble Ben Affleck was in the acceptance speech.

After last night’s win Daniel Day-Lewis and Anne Hathaway should start working on their Oscar acceptance speeches. The rest of the acting categories, I believe are still up in the air as to who is going to come home with the Oscar. Who will win Best Supporting Male and Best Actress in February? Will it be Tommy Lee Jones (Lincoln) or Alan Arkin (Argo)? Will is be Jessica Chastain (Zero Dark Thirty) or Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook)?

What are your predictions for Oscar winner this year? What Oscar nominated movies have you had a chance to see?

The TV portion had a few surprises. For once this awards season, we did not see a Homeland sweep in all the categories. It was really nice to see Downton Abbey win for Best Drama ensemble. I am glad they recognized out going shows like Breaking Bad and 30 Rock with acting awards for Bryan Cranston, Tina Fey and Alec Baldwin.

Were you surprised by some of the winner in the TV portion of the awards?

For a more detailed recap of last night’s show click here for this great Los Angeles Times article.

Red Carpet

I always like the SAG red carpet a little more than other awards show, because I feel that since it’s not as “fussy” of an awards show, the actors can have more fun with their outfits. I thought the fashion was really eclectic this year. Even though, black and blue ruled we did see some pastels, prints and glittery metallic. Another trend on the red carpet was the side swept  Veronica Lake”esque” hair. I did enjoy a lot of the looks but, these three were my best dressed of the night.

helen hunt(pic source)

Helen Hunt just dazzled in this platinum beaded mermaid  gown by Romona Keveza. She kept her make up natural, which was perfect with such an elaborate gown. I only wish she had put a little bit more color on her cheeks. I just adored the sexy beachy waves in her hair.

jennifer-lawrence-sag-awards-2013

(pic source)

Jennifer Lawrence was a knock out in this Christian Dior Haute Couture blue gown. She wore this dress very well. She knows what looks get on her body and I love that. It’s nice to see that, because there were so many ill-fitting gowns last night. The rest of the styling was perfect, the red lips and side swept hair is perfection.

marion-cotillard-sag-awards-2013-red-carpet

(pic source)

Marion Cotillard makes it look so effortless. Considering she was feeling under the weather. She still looked beautiful. When I first saw this gown, I didn’t love it. I loved her hair, makeup and simple jewelry, so that is why I gave it a second look today. After looking at the pictures, I changed my mind. I really love this Dior Haute Couture gown. I love the contrast of the white and blue. The skirt is beautiful. I like the shorter length in the front. I am really glad I gave this dress a second chance.

Click here to see all the red carpet looks from last night.

Who was your Best Dressed last night?

One thought on “SAGS Recap

Leave a Reply

