New Recipes

A lot of times I feel that I get into a cooking rut with dinner. I feel that I make the same things over and over again. I thought I would start the new year right, with some new recipe’s. Last week I made Lemon Pepper Pappardelle with Shrimp and it was such a hit with kids. That made me realize it was ok to start trying new recipes.

I have a love hate relationship with Pinterest. I love all the ideas, but then I feel overwhelmed, by what is out there. Sunday I decided to go and look at my food board and I told myself I had to pick 3 recipes to make for the week. So here are the recipes I have tried this week to include the Lemon Pepper Papardelle with Shrimp.

IMG_2045

Lemon Pepper Pappardelle with Shrimp (I went off the recipe on the back of pasta packaging, but I tweaked a few things): Click here for revised version.

Lemon Pepper Pappardelle Pasta from Trader Joes, 1 1/4 pounds of large shrimp, juice of 3 lemons, 6 cloves of garlic minced, few glugs of olive oil, salt and pepper to taste, handful of chopped Italian parsley

1) Boil water for pasta. Once you put the pasta in (Pasta will take 10-13 minutes), Heat oil, when the pasta has about 8 min left add shrimp (that has been tossed with garlic salt and a little pepper)

2) Drain pasta and put pasta in with shrimp and garlic. Add lemon juice and toss pasta in shrimp and lemon garlic mixture.

3) Add chopped parsley before serving.

What I would do differently next time is save a little bit of the starchy water to add once the pasta is tossed with the shrimp or a little bit of a dry white wine. I felt that the dish was a little dry.

Penne Rosa

236298311668666380_TSgu8jW4_c

(pic source)

I found this recipe on Pinterest and here is the link for the recipe. I tweaked, because we had just had shrimp a few days before. This is how I modified it. I used the penne, the diced tomatoes, garlic, marinara sauce (I used Trader Joe’s sauce) and I added the yogurt, but I used 2%. It was so delicious! It was a hit with the kids! Took a yummy twist on penne with marinara.

Skinnytaste Crock Pot Santa Fe Chicken

198369558558751679_hhJc2aMD_c

(pic source)

This was fabulous! The kids loved it, it’s easy to make and it’s good for your figure. It is very versatile too. The boys made tacos out of it. My husband and I made a rice bowl. I accidentally added too much broth and I didn’t drain he beans. I had a lot of liquid left over, but it had so much flavor I froze it to make tortilla soup with at a later date. Click here for this delicious recipe!

I am making a Pinterest veggie chili tonight. Will report on how it turns out. I hope you all have a great weekend! xoxo

2 thoughts on “New Recipes

  1. Pingback: Recipe: Spaghetti with creme fraiche and shrimps ( and one chilli pepper… ) | Chocolate Spoon & The Camera

Leave a Reply

