Awards Season Has Arrived

With the Golden Globes this Sunday, The SAG Awards are on January 27 and the Academy Awards nominations being announced yesterday, we can safely say that Awards season is in FULL SWING!! I try to see as many of the nominated films as I can, especially those in the big categories. I know I won’t be able to see all of them, but I hope to see Zero-Dark-Thirty, Beasts of the  Southern Wild, Amour (this is for curiosity, because I think it took Argo spot for direction) and Silver Linings Playbook soon.

These are the nominated movies that I have been able to see. These are my 2-cents on the movies. Now know that I am just an ordinary cinema lover and these are my personal opinions.

Lincoln was a great film. I have always have found that part of our American history very compelling. This movie was not a Lincoln bio pic. It really chronicle that last few months of Lincoln’s life, the ending of the Civil War and most importantly the passing of the 13th Amendment.  It was a great insight look, at the workings of our government during that time. It was like watching a West Wing episode of  the1860s.

The acting was absolutely superb. No matter how big or small the role the acting was really out of this world. Daniel Day-Lewis in my view has the Oscar in the bag for his portrayal of our 16th president. He was Lincoln. From articles I have read he really embodied that role even off camera. He stayed in character the entire time of the shoot. As part of their preparation for the role of President Lincoln and Mrs. Lincoln. Daniel Day-Lewis and Sally Field (Mary Todd Lincoln) spent a period of time exchanging text messages in character. Tommy Lee Jones was great as Senator Stevens . I wouldn’t be surprised if he took home a statue for supporting actor. Sally Field was not in the movie very much, but she owned every scene she was in. She is definitely a contender for best supporting actress.  James Spader (W.N. Bilbo), David Strathairn (William Seward),  Joseph Gordon-Levitt (Robert Lincoln), John Hawkes (Robert Latham) and Gloria Reuben (Elizabeth Keckley), in my opinion all gave award-winning performances in their respective roles.

Les Miserables, was also a very moving and beautiful film. I have never seen the stage production and I read the book (abridged version and more than likely cliff notes) ages ago. With that said, I was detached from the story for a while, I really didn’t have anything to compare this movie too. I know there has been some criticism that the actors sang while they filmed. I thought it worked well. The performances that really stand out for me are Anne Hathaway (Fantine), Hugh Jackman (Jean Valjean) and Samantha Barks (Eponine). My only big complaint, is that even though physically Russell Crowe fit the part of Javert. His voice wasn’t on par with the others (Sorry Russell).  I think and I hope that Anne Hathaway runs away with the Oscar. Her emotional scene when she sings, “I Dreamed A Dream” in my opinion it is probably the best performance this year. It’s acting at it’s very best.  It broke me in half. I was sobbing like a baby. I almost stood up and applauded at the end of that scene.  I think Les Miserables is going to win big in the production categories. The costumes and the sets were all such a key piece to the movie. It is almost like they were a characters in and of themselves.

Argo, what can I say if you haven’t seen it run, run, run to see it. It was the best movie I have seen this year. It was so well made. The story, the production, the sets, the acting were all top-notch.  It is very hard to make a modern-day historical movie. Most of us lived through that time. I was very young when the Iran hostage crisis was going on, but I do remember things from that era. My husband commented how he had all the Star Wars figurines in Ben Affleck‘s (Tony Mendez) character son’s room. At the end of the movie they had side by side comparison of the real life images from the Iran hostage situation and the movie still shots of those same images and they were exactly a like. You couldn’t tell which one was real-life and which one was from the movie. I really enjoyed how they started the film with a brief, but detailed history of what led up to the hostage crisis. It set up the movie very well. I would call this more of an ensemble cast but, the award worthy acting performance in my opinion is Alan Arkin (Lester Siegel). Even though his role is small. He owned every scene he was in. Many of his lines made the movie so memorable. Ben Affleck does a superb job, but unfortunately, he was not nominated for an Oscar.  I am glad this real-life story was made into a movie. It was riveting. Even though, I knew the ending I held my breath the entire movie. I REALLY, REALLY, REALLY hope this picture win’s Best Picture (you all know how I feel about his Oscar snub for direction). It was just so damn good. Well, done Mr. Affleck.

Click here to see the full list of Academy Awards nominations. What do you all think? I think a lot of people were snubbed, especially in the direction and best actor categories. Click here to see EW article on snubs.

I would really love to hear what were your favorite movies this year. What are your predictions for this awards season?

2 thoughts on “Awards Season Has Arrived

Leave a Reply

