Easy Brunch Recipes

Warning: These recipes are not at all healthy, they are actually very indulgent! They are EXTREMELY tasty and well, it’s the holidays, so it’s ok.

I thought I would share two of my go to brunch recipe’s. These can work for Christmas morning breakfast or any other gathering you want to bring a dish to. Best thing is they are so easy to make and everyone will think you slaved over them.

Quiche Lorraine (from The Ultimate Southern Living Cookbook page 202)* serves 6

IMG_1898

1 deep dish frozen pie shell (there is a recipe on how to make your own, but I just buy it. It’s easier for me),8 slices of bacon, chopped, 4 green onion, chopped, 2 cups of shredded Gruyère or Swiss, divided, 6 large eggs, beaten, 1 cup of whipping cream, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, 1/8 of teaspoon of nutmeg, dash of red pepper and dash of white pepper  (if I have it I use the red and white pepper. This time I had a house seasoning spice so I just added a dash of that), ground nutmeg

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees  2)Cook chopped bacon in a skillet over medium heat until browned; add chopped green onions and cook for another minute. Drain bacon and place it evenly in the pie shell. Top with 1 cup of cheese. Set aside 3)Combine eggs and next 5 ingredients stirring well. Pour mixture in pie shell and top with the last cup of cheese. Sprinkle some nutmeg on top of Quiche. 4) Bake for 35 min or until set. Let stand for 10 min before serving. Or sometimes what I do is make it the night before and reheat it before serving.

Sticky Buns (from My Mama Made That: Virginia Favorites from the Junior League of Hampton Roads, Inc. page 50)* serves 6 to 8

IMG_1899

First let me start with a funny story about these sticky buns. Now, every time I make them I think of my gregarious mother-in-law.  A few years ago we were having a family gathering at my house and she had come early to spend some time with her favorite daughter in law. My husband was on month 5 of a deployment and I was stressed out that I was having this big family gathering and sad that my husband wasn’t going to be there.  When I was telling her what I was going to make for the Mother’s Day brunch, she kindly suggested I make these sticky buns. My lovely Sissy had made them one time when they were visiting her and she went on and on and on, on how fabulous these damn sticky buns were. Now I am thinking didn’t she just hear me rattle on about everything else I have to make and she now wants me to make one more thing. I told her fine, after she gave me crap (and kindly bought me one) that I didn’t own a bundt pan (I am not a big baker). The night before the brunch my bff and my kitchen savvy brother-in-law were helping me make all the dishes for the next morning. My brother-in-law kindly took over the sticky buns making (you would think that my mother-in-law would have made them since she basically forced me into adding them to the brunch menu.)  Those “damn” sticky buns ended up being the hit of the brunch. It was the first thing that was gone. I was the first one to tell my mother-in-law that she was right to include them in the brunch :).

1/2 cup pecans, chopped, 1 (24-count)package frozen dinner rolls, 1(4-ounce) package butterscotch cook-and-serve pudding mix, 1/2 cup (1stick) butter, 3/4 cup packed light or dark brown sugar, 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Place the pecans at the bottom of an evenly greased bundt pan. Put the frozen rolls evenly in the pan. Sprinkle with the dry pudding mix. Combine the butter, brown sugar, and cinnamon in a saucepan. Cook over medium heat until the brown sugar and butter melts and the mixture is bubbly, stirring constantly. Pour evenly over the rolls. Cover the pan tightly with foil. Let rise at room temperature for 8-10 hours.

Preheat oven to 350 and bake for 30 min. Remove from oven and cool for 5 min. Turn pan over onto serving plate.

I hope these recipes make this time of the year a little easier for you all! Have a good week!

* The cookbooks I used to get the recipes from are absolutely fabulous. I have had the Southern Living Cookbook for about 12 years. It is my go to cookbook. All the recipes are good and stress free. My Mama Made That cookbook, if from the lovely ladies at the Junior League from Hampton Roads. They are a nonprofit organization and all proceeds of the cookbook go to the local charities they support in their area.

Leave a Reply

