Roasted Chicken with South African Smoke Seasoning

It had been some time since I had made a roasted chicken. The cooler weather gave me the urge to make one tonight. Growing up in Northern Virginia, I was spoiled with access to a variety of delicious Latin American restaurants. One of my favorite spots is Crisp and Juicy (I always make a stop when we go visit). I love the Peruvian rotisserie style chicken.  We currently live in a place that doesn’t have a Peruvian chicken place. I found this recipe a few years ago. It has been my go to roasted chicken recipe for a while. It doesn’t replace the Crisp and Juicy chicken by a long shot, but it is yummy nonetheless. I didn’t have enough white wine vinegar or fresh ginger so I improvised on the recipe. I thought it would be a good way to test the new South African Smoke seasoning I got at Trader Joe’s recently. I also used pomegranate vinegar instead of white wine vinegar.

Here are my ingredients:

6 cloves garlic (chopped), 2 teaspoons dried oregano, about 5 cranks of the South African Smoke Seasoning, 1/2 teaspoon of paprika, 1 teaspoon of cumin, 1/2 cup of pomegranate vinegar, salt and pepper One  4-6 pound chicken rinsed and patted dry

1) Using the flat side of a chef’s knife smear together the garlic and 2 tablespoons of salt on cutting board to form a paste. Transfer to a small bowl and then place all other ingredients in small bowl and stir.

2) Place chicken on a Pyrex dish. Slide your fingers between the skin and breast and loosen the skin all the way to legs. Place marinade under the skin and in cavity and also massage some on top. I also added more South African Smoke to the top of chicken. When done place in ziplock gallon bag and let marinade for at least 4 hours. The longer the better if you can do it the night before that is great!

3) Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Put chicken breast side up on a roasting pan. Add some veggies on the side if you want. I usually add sweet potatoes or potatoes a long the side of the chicken. The time will depend on how big your chicken is. Roast until juices run clear when meat is pieced between wing and breast. You can also use a thermometer. I had a 6 lb chicken and it took 1hr 20 min, plus 10 minute rest time. Also, if the top starts to burn place some foil on top of the chicken.

I had picked some of the skin off….so delicious. Yes, I know that was naughty of me!

This meal was absolutely delicious! It was a big hit with everyone in the family. I think the pomegranate vinegar in combination with the other seasonings gave it a great festive  flavor. I also served it with a tomato pico de gallo like salad.

What are some of your favorite chicken recipes? Hope you all have a great week! xoxo

Leave a Reply

