Tough Mudder and Halloween Let Down

Thursday and today has kind of felt like that day after Christmas. Two events I have been so eagerly awaiting are over and I am sad about it. After Saturday’s Tough Mudder I am was seriously riding high on adrenaline until Monday night. On Sunday I had minimal muscle pain. I had some bruising, but if I kept moving the muscle pain was bearable. I even went for a mile jog with my older son. On Monday I felt like I was hit by a mac truck. I was able to get up and I even went to the gym. Once I started talking about my experience to my gym “family”, I found my mojo again. I even did a TRX and Kettle Bell class and felt awesome. That evening after the kids were put to bed and the kitchen was cleaned. I laid on the couch and fell asleep at like 8:30pm. Tuesday morning I had no desire to go to the gym, but I had to keep my training session. Thankfully my trainer took it easy. He suggested I lay low until Friday and I have been. Over the past few days more bruises have been popping up. The only 2 significant injuries I have are a HUGE bruise across my right rib area. It also was slightly swollen. My right deltoid and shoulder hurts, and with certain movements makes me actually wince in pain.

Instead of going to the gym I have been eating my way through a bag of fun size Snickers. Halloween wasn’t a good health day for me. I ate pizza and a burger all in one day, not to mention all the Halloween candy. I also had some wine pre trick or treating and a cupcake post trick-or-treating. My boys had a good Halloween. We had friends come over for dinner and trick or treating. My younger son had a parade and party at his pre-school. I dressed like a witch and went to help out at my older son’s class. I was especially happy to end the day with a family viewing of “It’s the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown!”(Which I nodded off half way through….damn food and wine!). When Halloween was said and done my little guy said it best, “I don’t want Halloween to be over Mom! I want Halloween to be everyday!”. I couldn’t have said it best kid!

How do you get yourself out of the “day after Christmas feeling”?

I try to look forward to new things on the calendar. For example, we have a big family trip coming up for Christmas trip and I am going to visit my friend in Boston next weekend. As for the gym, I just need to get back there and work out with the intensity that I was. Even though the next Tough Mudder isn’t until September. I still need lose another 5 pounds. Always keep a goal in mind. I have a 4 mile race on New Year’s Eve, which I would love to run the entire thing. I also don’t want to undo what I have done. It took me a lot of hard work to get where I am.

I hope you all have a great weekend! xoxo

2 thoughts on “Tough Mudder and Halloween Let Down

  1. I get over the latest fun thing by getting excited about the next fun event or holiday! 🙂 I kind of feel like you do now when Jan 2 rolls around and it’s the dead of winter and all the fun, sparkly holidays are over! Dying to see your fab holiday decor! Congrats on all the hard work you did for your training and getting in shape! xo

Leave a Reply

