“Listen To Your Body.”

One of the best phrases I have learned in recent memory is “listen to your body”.  I have been rigorously training for the past 7 weeks for a Tough Mudder I am doing at the end of the month. For 7 weeks I have worked out  incredibly hard for 6 days and allowed myself one rest day a week.  At the end of last week I could feel my body starting to break down. It was getting tired and old injuries were starting to rear their ugly heads. So I listened to my body and this week I have taken it easy. I have not run (which is where a big source of my pain comes from), and have made my work outs lighter and stretched for a longer amount of time. Instead of 1 day of rest I have given myself 2 and you know what I am ok with that. I am going to train strong next week and take it easy the week of. I am proud of the hard work I have done and I am confident my body and mind are ready!

When do you allow yourselves rest when you are training? Do you ever feel bad about resting?

 

Leave a Reply

